Overwatch Double XP event this weekend: Here’s when it starts in your region Overwatch Double XP event this weekend: Here’s when it starts in your region
Overwatch players can cap off the game's one-year Anniversary event with a Double XP weekend kicking off in a few days. Overwatch Double XP event this weekend: Here’s when it starts in your region

Overwatch players can cap off the game’s one-year Anniversary event with a Double XP weekend kicking off in a few days.

This will be the first time a Double XP event has taken place for Overwatch, and comes after a long campaign by the community to bring such a feature to the game.

Overwatch‘s Double XP weekend will reward you double XP — obviously — throughout the match. This will help you work towards Anniversary loot boxes and those awesome dancing emotes, which unfortunately are locked to the event itself: once it ends, you won’t be able to find them in loot boxes.

XP is doubled rather broadly: each specific statistic is doubled before a total doubled tally is finalised.

The bonus will apply to nearly all sources of in-game XP, including:

  • Time spent in a match
  • Completing a match
  • Completing consecutive matches
  • Winning a match
  • Backfilling a match in progress
  • Earning medals
MORE:   Overwatch's D.Va set for Defense Matrix buff

Only “First Win of Day” bonus isn’t doubled, which makes sense considering that’s already a very generous 1500 XP.

Here’s when the Double XP weekend takes place in your part of the world.

North America

 

  • 5:00 p.m. PDT on June 8
  • 6:00 p.m. MDT on June 8
  • 7:00 p.m. CDT on June 8
  • 8:00 p.m. EST on June 8
  • 8:00 p.m. AST on June 8
  • 9:00 p.m. BRT on June 8
  • 9:30 p.m. NDT on June 8
  • 8:00 a.m. SGT on June 9
  • 10:00 a.m. AEST on June 9
  • 12:00 p.m. NZST on June 9

Europe

  • 01:00 BST on June 9
  • 02:00 CEST on June 9
  • 03:00 MSK on June 9

Asia and Australasia 

  • 10:00 a.m. AEST on June 9
  • 08:00 a.m. CST on June 9
  • 09:00 a.m. KST on June 9
  • 09:00 a.m. JST on June 9
Profile photo of Gaetano Prestia

Gaetano Prestia Editor in Chief

Gaetano loves Doritos and always orders Mountain Dew with his KFC. He's not sorry. He also likes Call Of Duty, but would much rather play Civ. He hates losing at FIFA, and his pet hate is people who recline their seat on short-haul flights.